Stihl 028 Wood Boss – – Rebuild

Sometimes I just can’t leave well enough alone, actually this was a needed rebuild due to a leaking crank seal. The case edge that abuts the crank seal was ‘buggered-up” from a screw driver being used to pry out an old seal years ago. So, instead of just putting some Permatex sealant over it I decided to do it right and fix the case with JB Weld but in order to do so I needed to completely dismantle the saw and crack open the case. A big task but doable with lots of reading and lots of patience.

This is a 1979 vintage Stihl 028 WB (Wood Boss) that was made in West Germany. It does not have the safety lever that stops the clutch on a kickback, that was an “American” saw feature required by our Gooberment. I bought this saw in 1995 at a pawn shop in Salem, OR and tinkered around with it back then but never could get it to run right due to the leaking crank seal so never used it much. After this rebuild I’m not sure if I’ll ever use it again and instead put it on a shelf for display. Nay, I’ll use it, it’s too much fun. It’s loud, smokes and stinks what’s not to love about it. I’m rebuilding it so it will last another 30 years and my boys can use it for firewood when they set up elk camp someday.

Here’s a picture of the buggered up case edge, next to the crank seal, that’s the part that leaked and I’m repairing.

Here’s the dismantling process, ugh! To keep everything organized I put parts into zip lock bags and label them.

Here’s what splitting the case looks like….

Here’s what it looks like “organized”.

I worked on the ‘hood’ and got it cleaned up and looking good. There was some sticker residue that always bugged me and I finally got it off with some Kroil oil, WD-40 and elbow grease.

Here’s the cylinder or “Jug” in chainsaw lingo. I’m going in the exhaust port to clean out the baked on carbon and to polish the walls for smoother ‘flow’.

Here’s the finished work…

This is one of the case halves being soaked in Gunk foaming engine cleaner, I’m trying to get off the 30 years of baked on oil and grime. It came out looking better than I expected with the help from the air compressor and a rag.

The inside of the flywheel side, case half.

I also spent some time with the ‘Jug’ cleaning it up and putting down new cross hatching on the inside for a better seal and compression. Also cleaned up the bottom for the gasket to make a clean and tight seal.

To be continued……..

Going in! Bearings that, is!

Both case halves have been thoroughly cleaned and prepped. The half that needed repair is done and the JB Weld is dry and only reassembly will tell if it’s air tight (fingers crossed).

To install the crank bearings I put them in the freezer for several hours and then took a heat gun and warmed up the case (spec. is 150 degrees) by my calibrated index finger all was well and ready for the bearing. I placed the bearings into the hole and a light tap with a plastic fitting and in it went square and snug.

Flywheel side of case, added some Stihl 2 stroke oil to the bearing for initial start up….should be nice and smokey first time there is fire!

Clutch side getting ready for bearing install. Same procedure as above: put bearing in freezer and heated up case with heat gun and tapped in bearing. All went well (fingers still crossed).

And done!!!! The assembly process has begun!

Gaskets came in today (11/23/2009) so it’s time to start putting things together.

Here’s the case gasket laid on the case half, notice the case pins on each end, makes it easier to hold the gasket in place while reassembling.

Here’s the case halves coming together, alternating tightening the screws slightly in a criss-cross pattern, took a little patience but all went well.

And here it is together. Notice the mechanics stethoscope? I used it to listen to the bearings and counter balance weights after everything was put back together, wanted to make sure the bearings operated smoothly and the counter balance weights weren’t rubbing on the case.

Next I inserted the crank oil seals (both sides)…

….and tested to see if it would hold 10 psi of vacuum. With a little help from Permatex gasket sealant it held.

To be continued…..

The going back together process!

“Beer can” ring compressor.

Got it! Piston is in the jug! Wasn’t exactly easy, either.

Making progress. Cylinder is on, clutch is on and oiler installed.

Starting to look like a saw. Muffler installed, flywheel on, dog installed, intake boot and impulse line installed.

Rear handle installed! Putting on the electronic coil.
Once I was at this point I wasn’t going to quit until it was finished…unfortunately that happened at 1:00 a.m.

It’s REALLY starting to look like a saw now!!!

Almost done!

IT’S ALIVE!!!!!

Waaa Haaa Haaa Haaa!!! Look out wood, here we come!

4 Responses to “Stihl 028 Wood Boss – – Rebuild”

  1. Rufuss Says:

    Looking like a huge job to me, more work than going to get the wood! But satisfying I am sure, when it runs…..it will run again, right?? :):)

  2. The Wife Says:

    I sure do love my dork!!!:) You’re a little nutty when it comes to chain saws, none the less you amaze me as you persevere. Tinker on hun.

  3. Bull Bunny Says:

    Great job, you didn’t get that organizun thing from me. Keep lookin up!

  4. Warnocks Says:

    nice job John your hired

Leave a comment